Summer Roses

Some colour combinations are such classics. Take this one of red, black, white and lime. They are almost sure to look good together.

I can think of others such as …

Orange and denim blue

Pale yellow and soft blue

Lime and turquoise

Mauve and brown

These combinations and many others give you a feeling. They work together in a special way.

In this rug I started out knowing the combination of colours even before I decided upon the subject. Red roses are a favorite of mine to hook so they were a natural compliment to the black and white pots. In the long thin rug I chose a coral for the pot just to change it up because I knew that coral and red always work well together in my rugs.

The stems needed to be noticeable and stand out from the background but I did not want their curvy nature to overtake the rug. If I had chosen a bright colour that is all you would see. The deep green real works well I think. 

Sometimes colour is your first inspiration!