The rug in progress

One of the most difficult things about starting a rug is deciding which colour to start with. That first colour determines all the other colours that you will use.  I hate to colour plan the entire rug in the beginning. It is just not the way I work. Instead I like every colour I add to help determine the next colour. 

So colour planning is not something I really do. It is more like colour processing. Through out the whole rug I am processing the colours I choose and deciding if they are right.

For me if I worked out all the colours before I started I would have the puzzle worked out. The fun would be gone. I like to make it part of the whole process.

Yesterday I worked on this pot. I knew from the start that the pot would be black and white but the teal stems evolved. I had imagined green but then chose three shades of blue and hooked them in. The teal won. 

I think black and white will appear again in my rugs. It is such an easy palette to jump off. 

3 thoughts on “The rug in progress

  1. Question: How do you decide what cut of wool to use? When is wider better, narrower better?

Leave a Reply

