Twenty Five Years a Beginner

As I work to create a selection of new beginner kits for the studio I think a lot about what it is like to be a beginner.

I have been starting to paint. Playing with new materials, learning how to handle them. It is a whole new world. 

That must be what it is like when people start rug hooking. I remember how I was. I was so curious. I was starting out. Curious about everything. 

I feel the same way whenever I start to paint. 

I have never painted consistently enough for me to loose that beginner feeling.

I want our beginner kits to inspire people to make more rugs. I want them to make them curious about new and different materials. Curious about design! Curious about finishing and moving on.

I am going to make lots more small kits. I will see what I can come up with to keep people hooking. Small projects that are not daunting. Little pieces that they can finish easy and move on to new materials and colours. It will be like a little series of explorations. You will be able to play with designs, colours, and textures.

For the next little while as I explore painting big as a beginner I am also going to explore hooking small and imagine what it might be like for a beginner.

This year I will be in business for twenty five years. Every new year there is a new beginning. Anyone who works as an artist or as a business person. You are always starting over. 

As I hook these small pieces and paint large I feel a real juxtaposition on some levels. On other levels there is a synchronicity. I find them both fun, and both challenging. In paint I work to complicate the materials so they are more interesting. In rug hooking I am trying to simplify the materials and keep the designs interesting. 

The thing I am most happy about is that I am making. Ideas are emerging slowly but they are coming and I am excited about the possibility.

You would think if you were good at one it would be easy to be good at the other but it is not that way. I think I will have to make fifteen or twenty paintings to get anything I like. Maybe it is the same for rug hookers. You have to make lots to get to a point where you really start to like your work. 

Just make. 

Be happy to make. 

Be grateful you have the luxury to make. 

It is a joy. 

Twenty five years is a long time but really I am twenty five years and counting. 

Twenty five years a beginner and hoping to remain that way.

Twenty five years and counting.