Fill up the cup

Sometimes I have to pull myself away. 

I took a road trip on the weekend and delivered 22 of my rugs to the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia for their permanent collection. 

I was happy to see them off and into good hands. 

Getting around to taking them down there should have been easy but instead I keep talking myself out of hitting the road. 

For me it is like a workout. I like it when I do it. I feel good afterward but I do not look forward to it.

It would be nice to try and change this but that would be like a diet. It is not going to happen. See I am happy like this. It is just that my curiousity does not get satiated so I have to break the bonds of home sometimes.

Once I got to the city it snowed heavily and I walked about and had a lovely time. It was just so pretty with all the lights. It does not get dark there at five o’clock because there are lights on everywhere. 

A good dinner out. 

A morning at the market. 

Perfect really. I loved it. 

I just needed a kick in the arse. 

It will be easier if I just keep going away lots. 

Just a night here and there. 

Filling up the cup. 

Breathing in. 

I wandered around the AGNS and one of the docents came along and guided me through a show of Nova Scotia artists. She asked really interesting questions, ones she herself did not know the answers too. I liked that. It left room for discussion. Art is so beautiful to talk about.

I bought a book by a painter I have been curious about. I bought some pens. Little things. 

I looked at more art. 

It was like one of Julia Cameron’s artists dates. We need them. We need to socialize the artist in us. She needs to be met in different places. 

I came home, still not terrifically inspired but ready to work. 

If I work the inspiration will come. I know that. Twenty five years at this has taught me to show up whether you feel like it or not. 

Showing up and making lots of work. 

That is the answer. 

Fill up. 

Show up. 

Make the work. 



6 thoughts on “Fill up the cup

  1. Congrats on your 25 years. You were my inspiration when I started hooking 15 years ago! You are truly an artist.

    Like

  2. Thank you for taking me with you on this day trip. This is the time of year here in Vermont that we tend to settle in and hook but we let ourselves get very isolated. I appreciate your words and made plans with my daughter/in-law who is a new hooker, to get together with a few other hookers and spend the day Hooking and chatting!

    Like

Comments are closed.