Seeing things from another point of view

Yesterday a little boy visited our house because he had asked Santa to see inside some old houses. It made me look at our house from a different perspective and I appreciated that.

The things we are used to we look at from the same perspective all the time. It takes another pair of eyes to help us see again sometimes. 

Whether it is your home, your business, your art, you rug hooking. Sometimes we need to step away and let someone else show it to us from their point of view.

As I get ready to teach this winters online class   I try to think from the perspective of the people who will be learning with me. Every little video we make is about the learner. When I do this I see my rug hooking from a new perspective.  I can see what I am doing rather than just doing it. I learn a lot myself from this. It slows me down and makes me examine the process more carefully. 

It is a kind of self examination, watching your shadow, or thinking about the way you think. 

Sometimes little things help you get outside yourself and see things from a new perspective.