bringing a bit of simplicity back

For two years I worked on a knitting book with Megan Ingman’s help. I started out as one idea and over time morphed. I had made all the designs with Megan’s help, done the knitting and written the manuscript.at some point Megan decided that she could not co author it with me and we agreed that I would go ahead with it alone. So the bookstarted out as one thing and morphed into something else.

I even had a publisher all lined up. Last week we were ready to the photography and I just felt that I needed to call it off. I felt as if in doing the book I was not following my spirit so I had to call a halt.

Everything was good with it. Megan and I remain good friends even though she does not work here anymore and the book was ready to go. I just felt that for some reason I could not define I did not want to go ahead with it. It was one of those things that was seemingly right but something was niggling at me about it so I let it go. I stepped back, and in doing that I felt relieved. Sometimes there is no answer about what direction you should go in. There is no arrow, or well defined path. You just have to sift your way through. I have learned that in saying no, or sometimes in stepping back I feel as much as freedom as I do in saying yes and moving forward with something that really excites me.

I cannot tell you why I  changed my mind about doing a knitting book exactly. I can tell you however that when you say not to one thing it opens up room for more of another thing. Right after I decided to move on I picked out some lichen and lace yarn and started a new knitting pattern for a shawl to match my new boots. The colour is day lily, and really at night I just want to knit that shawl, and it makes me happy. Sometimes you just need to bring simplicity back into your life. Projects can be tempered and tamed down. Dreams can still happen they just might be different than you anticipated.

 




6 thoughts on “bringing a bit of simplicity back

  1. Amen!!!!!

    On Mon, Jan 18, 2016 at 12:54 PM, WordPress.com wrote:

    > hookingrugs posted: “For two years I worked on a knitting book with Megan > Ingman’s help. I started out as one idea and over time morphed. I had made > all the designs with Megan’s help, done the knitting and written the > manuscript.We even had a publisher all lined up. Last week” >

  2. I agree so very much.
    This is the year for simplifying and if something does not feel right, I do not have to have a good reason why I am not doing it, just not doing it, that is enough. Good for you. By the way I love the rug at the top of this page, the colors are so warm and comforting. Jane

  3. Congratulations on knowing when something just isn’t right! Love the boots , yarn and especially the lampshade.

Comments are closed.