Just Hope

There is so much about renewal in January it can overwhelm you. Make you feel that your life needs to be more and better, that you need to be more and better.

It is a lot of pressure really. I always feel it in January. It is as if you have to have a plan for the year to be it’s best. Any other day you can just wake up and carry on. But in early January, all of a sudden you need a plan.

Whew, that is a lot to take stock of. Today in my bible study with Don Miller ( also the man who dressed up in sexy jersey for me…so it is a special bible study and he is a special minister) he used a passage in Isiah to remind us that the best is not behind us, there is also much good to come. Expecting good, he said , is a tenet of the bible. Whatever your beliefs are, the idea that there is good to come is essential to good living. You do not have to have a resolution or a big change planned. It does not have to be revolutionary. You just have to believe that there is good to come. I think the word for this is “Hope”. It is so much easier on me to believe that there is good to come than it is to make up big idea for the new year.

The more I think about this, the more I think that is ok for me to just have hope. Hope for my community, faith in the people who live here, and both faith and hope in myself and my own dreams and desires to evolve.

I have not got an amazing plan for the new year. And that’s okay.

I don’t have a plan to transform myself or my community.

What I do have is faith and love, and a belief that together with who and what is important to me, transformation will happen.

Deanne


 

 

2 thoughts on “Just Hope

Comments are closed.