Catherine Bussiere: father’s day

I always have a hard time using the word husband
as a young woman I had no intention of getting married
I loved a man, he loved me, all was well
then we had a child and that was the most beautiful thing that could happen between us
it was a bond like no others
still, I didn’t want to get married

a year later, as our little blond bundle was running around I wished to have him baptize
I wanted to have a celebration
a few close friends and family were invited
all under the premise of the baptism
I don’t remember exactly how or when it happened but eventually I agreed to tie the knot
my loved one, a patient man, kept asking
it was a surprise for the guests
at the end of that day I had a husband

I remember thinking that the man I would love, the one I would want to spend my life with, had to be one with whom I would want to have children
not that children was on top of the agenda
but, you know what I mean, I didn’t want a fling
I wanted something solid

maybe I didn’t only want a lover
I wanted the qualities of a man that cares for children

As I woke up this morning I knew this blog had to be about my companion
(I think I like that better than husband)
the man of my life, mon amour
has been a wonderful dad
present, playful, patient
loving, generous, attentive
he is and will be there for our kids no matter what, no matter when
I know it, they do to

as I look at our now three young adults
two sons and a daughter
as I see their confidence, maturity, their care for one another
I am pleased and happy
we’ve worked well together

happy father’s day Eric
xo

green DSC_0010 DSC_0012 DSC_0013

One thought on “Catherine Bussiere: father’s day

  1. Catherine,

    My father’s been gone three years now. He was a previous generation to your husband, but I recognize so many of the same characteristics. He was very present in my and my siblings’ lives even though he belonged to a generation that largely left child rearing to the stay-at-home professional mother. Dad always knew what we were up to and guided, corrected and most importantly paid attention to us. My parents were a great team and we were lucky to grow up under their influence.

    Nice to know there are men out there who understand what’s needed to raise children.

    Sally

Comments are closed.