Newsletter – Build Your Landscape Stash!

 

 

1-800-328-7756                            www.hookingrugs.com

 Red Leaves at the Sea 57″ x 57″ $3800 

Build Your Landscape Stash!

Coffee With Deanne

If I could hook only landscapes it would not bother me a bit. I think they are the most beautiful of all my rugs because there is so much freedom of movement in them. I really feel them as I am making them. I relate to them like I relate to the fields beside me as i am taking a walk or riding by on my bike. In the landscape of the red leaves I love the way the hills meet the water with their pointy eagle like beaks. It is dramatic. Hooking landscapes soothes me in the same way  a walk or a bike ride does. I wonder what type of hooking does that for you? Is it geometrics, florals etc? I think that when you find that you hit your stride. You know you are on the right path.

Studio Products 

This Wool Pack is a great opportunity to get a lot of wool – different colours, different weights, different textures – a great start or refreshment to your wool stash. These are the wool’s that I hook with. You will receive an assortment of 20 pieces of wool equal to almost 5 yards of fabric. This assortment (may not be as shown) has a value of $240, but because we pick the colours, you get this amazing value for only $199.
Wool Pack $199 

This Yarn Pack is a great opportunity to get a lot of interesting yarn and wool rovings – different colours, different weights, different textures – a great start or refreshment to your wool stash. These are the yarns that I hook with. You will receive an assortment of natural fibre yarns (wool, mohair, silk). This assortment (may not be as shown) has a value of $240, but because we pick the colours, you get this amazing value for only $199.

Yarn Pack $199 

Inspirata from the Blog

As Good As It Gets 

My favourite barn is this one. Why do I have a favorite barn? Who knows. I just do and it is this one on the marsh. A few nights ago I took a long walk out past the barn to meet the bay of fundy once again. It’s like an old boyfriend that you just love running into again and again. I love the colour of it’s skin, that moody grey brown mauve. That bay has reinvented blue so many times that I now know a dozen more shades of it. Read more 

Staff Picks…Good Books

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee says Deanne

Alabama Studio Sewing Patterns by Alabama Chanin says Megan

What’s for lunch… 

At the studio we spend many of our lunch breaks discussing food, inspecting the food we bring for lunch (mostly leftovers) and asking each other what is on the menu for dinner. We love food and we’d like to share some of our favourite recipes with you. This one was recommended by Laurie whose husband Barry USED to believe that “real men don’t eat quiche.” 

Chicken and Broccoli Quiche

2 cups grated cheddar

1 1/2 cup chopped cooked chicken or tuna

2/3 cup chopped onion

2 cups cooked broccoli

1 1/3 cups milk

4 eggs

1/2 cup flour

salt and pepper

Spray one large or two medium-sized pie plates with non-stick Pam.

Beat together eggs, flour and milk.

Add other ingredients.

Pour into pie plates.

Bake at 350 F degrees for 35-45 minutes.

Four servings.

This makes its own crust.

Note:

If making one big quiche you may have to bake for more than 45 minutes. Depending on the oven it takes a while to get it thoroughly baked in the centre.

From:

Food for Life cookbook Volume 1 Page 12

The Mystery Pattern of the Month Club – You should Join Today.  

For just $34 a month you will receive a special package delivered to your door.  Inside the package is a rug hooking screen printed on linen backing, a letter from Deanne, and a little treat.  The Pattern of the Month Club is perfect for those who:

– want to make rug hooking part of their daily routine

-love surprises

-have a lot of wool but not sure what they want to hook

-love Deanne’s designs and want to collect them all!

Pattern of the Month Club just $34 (free shipping!) 

Online Learning

I have many online courses you can enjoy in the comfort of your own home….Get creative, have fun, and take your rug hooking to the next level…
Hooking Rugs – A great video primer for beginners, also a great refresher – I guarantee you will learn something.

Just $9.99 
Hooking People Online Video- Everything you need to know to bring people to life in your mats $24.95
Poppy Power – Includes the full content of my very popular “Poppies Pattern Book” along with video lessons 

$19.95

The Swimmers – Video instruction on hooking people on a small scale $19.95
Seasonal Floral Pillows – Video instruction on how to hook beautiful floral pillows.

$19.95
Beginning to Hook Abstract Rugs – Includes 9 videos and more $39.95
Landscape Rugs – A pdf lesson with 29 full colour pages in which I explain how I create my field rugs and natural landscapes.

$9.95
 

Five Trees Online Course – Ten lessons include colour images, written instruction and 21 videos 
$49.95 

Wild With Wool Online Course – Over 10 Mini-Lessons that include video, audio clips, photos and more. $99 

Hooking People –  An online lesson packed with videos, drawings, images of rugs, and much more. It covers everything you need to know about how I like to hook people. $99 

       Have you visited our Wild With Wool Facebook Page?  We have over 2700 members and they are posting beautiful rugs everyday.  
Click on the icon at left to request an invitation.