Newsletter: Two New Online Lessons for You!

Hello there,
I know that some of you live in warm places and will hardly believe it when I tell you that it’s snowing here in Nova Scotia today, but it’s true. We’re all still going around in hand-knit sweaters. Tonight at my knitting group I’ll be working on a fisherman’s toque. I’ll probably have to wear it home.

Yesterday morning I rushed in to the studio to work on my big sails rug that I have on the frame. It’s inspired by my recent little vacation. I’m using tans, creams and dull teals instead of the whites and blues that I actually saw – that’s my prerogative as the maker. It’s one of the joys of rug hooking to be able to make those kinds of changes on your own whim.

I am often asked about how I hook. A few years ago I created an online course called Wild with Wool and taught many people how I hook. It was so exciting to work with people all over the world and show them just how I approach all areas of my rug hooking, from gathering the fabric, to dying the wool, to finishing. This course is now online and available to purchase anytime. After you buy the Wild with Wool tutorial, it’s yours to keep forever and you can work away on it at your own pace. I am a big online learner myself and believe in the value of it. I have bought courses and learned so much. I encourage you to try this and other of my online courses. 
Today in the studio we were packing up our pattern of the month club to send out and I am working on a special writing project that I’ll share more about later.

It is a good day to be inside and busy!

Deanne

Coffee with Deanne…Click the Video to Watch, and don’t forget to subscribe to my Youtube Channel!

Five Trees Online Lesson!

There is a single tree on the way to Parrsboro that always captures my attention. It’s often that way isn’t it? Often there is some landmark on a familiar drive that we wait for as the landscape whizzes by us. We see it, it captures our imagination, soothes us on our way. 

That single tree high up on a blueberry field has inspired many rugs for me and Five Trees is one of them. Last January I decided to create a pattern inspired by this rug, and create a Work Along with Deanne Online Course which we offered this past March. This Work Along Course was a great success and those who took it produced amazing work.
Now I am offering the content from the Five Trees Work Along organized, and in one place that you can access forever. This course includes ten lessons with videos will be yours to watch again and again and you can work along at your own pace on the Five Tree Rug. 
I’ll be offering some special tips on hooking more quickly and finishing projects to keep you inspired. The 10 lessons will include colour images, written instructions, and video all about hooking this particular Pattern, the Five Trees. 
 If you would like to purchase the Five Trees Pattern you will find that here.

You can also purchase a complete kit with the pattern and cut wool for the Five Trees here.

Bundles of colour, bundles of fun!!


Mystery Bundle with pattern $99 includes shipping 

You’ll love receiving our mystery bundle in the mail! Each month is a new adventure in colour and texture as you add to your stash and expand your fabric library. It’s a bundle of inspiration and new beginnings.  
Making time Journal
Volume 2 

A daybook and journal

featuring the rugs and writings of Deanne Fitzpatrick.

This coil-bound daybook features a perpetual calendar

perfect to use as a birthday book,

or just to keep track of your appointments.

Making Time Journal
$24.95 

We still have Bracelets!  These bracelets are locally made of pewter and feature an open cuff style so they will fit all wrists.

We hope this will be the first bracelet in a series, so don’t miss out on this one.

You can buy  here for $24.95 (now includes shipping)

So get your shopping done….

visit us at

www.hookingrugs.com

to place your order or order over the phone at

1-800-328-7756

or shop at our studio in person !

 

Inspirata from the Blog…

SAGE 

I chose the word sage, not because it grows outside my door, not because it goes great pan fried in butter over ravioli, but because it has a dual meaning.

Sage is a herb often rolled together and burnt  and used in smudging ceremonies to heal negative thoughts. That is interesting but not the reason I chose it.

Sage smells beautiful. It is a beautiful colour. More great reasons to choose it for this word rug, but not mine.

I chose it because it also means someone who imparts wisdom, and we all need a sage in our life.
Read more…

Wild With Wool Online Tutorial is now available
$99

We are happy to offer this wildly popular online course again – but this time it is in a different format.  Now when you purchase the Wild With Wool Online Course all of the information is available to you immediately and forever!  

In Wild with Wool I really try to show you the way I hook. This course is loaded with videos that show you the inside story of how I create my rugs, how I approach materials and experiment with them. It is a great course for anyone who wants to discover the possibilities of rug hooking and get creative with their projects.

It is a course that will help you become more inventive, more comfortable, and more creative with your rug hooking. It explores everything from basic rug hooking, to dying wool to designing your own rugs.

– Lesson one: Getting into the groove of the hook and understanding technique

-Lesson two: Understanding materials, movement

-Lesson three: Colour and Texture Lesson four: Creativity and Rug hooking

-And there is more!

There are over 10 Mini-Lessons that include video, audio clips, photos and more.

When you purchase this Online Tutorial you will be sent a link to the course website along with a unique username and password to access the course content.

You will always have access to the content, your access will never expire.  This makes it ideal for those who like to work at their own pace.

Keep in mind, there won’t be any activity stream like there was in the past – but feel free to share your progress on the Wild with Wool Facebook page.

Wild With Wool Online Course $99 

I have Many Online Courses you can enjoy in the comfort of your own home….Get Creative,  Have Fun,  and take your Rug Hooking to the next level…

Hooking Rugs – A great video primer for beginners, also a great refresher – I guarantee you will learn something.

Just $9.99 
Hooking People Online Video- Everything you need to know to bring people to life in your mats $24.95
Poppy Power – Includes the full content of my very popular “Poppies Pattern Book” along with video lessons 

$19.95

The Swimmers – Video instruction on hooking people on a small scale $19.95
Seasonal Floral Pillows – Video instruction on how to hook beautiful floral pillows.

$19.95
Beginning to Hook Abstract Rugs – Includes 9 videos and more $39.95
Landscape Rugs – A pdf lesson with 29 full colour pages in which I explain how I create my field rugs and natural landscapes.

$9.95 

 

       Have you visited our Wild With Wool Facebook Page?  We have over 2700 members and they are posting beautiful rugs everyday.  
Click on the icon at left to request an invitation.