Catherine Bussiere: Kaouki dog

this will be our last week in Sidi Kaouki
last week in Morocco
last week of our, almost, six months journey
next Sunday we will be back in Beckwith
it’s hard to believe

it’s funny how time goes
it didn’t take too long after we got here that Charlotte started counting the days
she was ready
it was 20 + days and it seemed so far off
then the days blended in and weeks flew by

one of our highlight lately has been a daily walk
to your left or to your right
down the beach
you can walk for miles and miles
and once you’re out of this small village, its’ hotels and campgrounds
there is just about nothing but a few fishermen checking their nets at low tide

the owners where we stay adopted a beach dog named Raquel
maybe a year or two ago
I am not a “dog” person
I much prefer cats
but I have to say
after four weeks here
I very much like Raquel

she guards my sandals and glasses on the beach when I’m swimming
she doesn’t whine
she is independent
she can run for miles

She is the impersonation of “the dog”
faithful, beautiful, noble

She has a two year old daughter named Blondie who is a little bit crazy
Blondie lives up the road at Villa Soleil
often the two of them will join us on our walk
together they become a lethal duo
they will attack at random any lonesome dog
they are out of control

it blows my mind to see these lovely gentle creatures become instant brutes
then return to us, wagging their tail, with a big smile on their face
they rule the beach
secretly I admire that
their power, their strength
while I humanly disprove

yesterday was special
a little one decided to join them
they did not seem to mind
as he looked quite smug to be hanging with the fearsome two

DSC_0108

DSC_0109

DSC_0110

DSC_0127

DSC_0154

DSC_0157

DSC_0166

DSC_0170

DSC_0200

DSC_0204

4 thoughts on “Catherine Bussiere: Kaouki dog

  1. I as well have thoroughly enjoyed your journey. Most times I would check in, mean to comment , but then became distracted. Now today I will tell you that I did indeed read and enjoy all your entries. It brought some memories back to me of our 4 months living in Holland and travelling elsewhere in Europe decades ago. Travel safely, Catherine.

Comments are closed.