Maritime Mary : Shortbreads

Whipped shortbread cookies are a tradition in our home at Christmas time. Many years ago, a colleague at work shared her recipe with me and I’ve made them every year since then. I make them tiny and they’re so light, they just melt in your mouth.

For many years, my daughter and her friend would do all the decorating of the cookies. They would giggle and fuss over every one,making each one perfect. Those are wonderful Christmas memories.

This year I have a fancy new mixer which made the 10 minutes of beating painless. If you have just a bit of time, do give this recipe a try.

Whipped Shortbread

Beat one cup of room temperature butter (not melted butter, I learned that the hard way) for 4 to 5 minutes until very light coloured.
Add 1 1/2 cups flour and 1/2 cup of icing sugar.
Continue to beat for another 6 minutes.
Using a small spoon or cookie press, drop small amounts in a baking sheet.
Bake for 10 – 12 minutes or till the bottoms are a very light brown.
For the icing I used butter, icing sugar and juice from the maraschino cherry jar.
Makes approximately 40 small, delicious cookies.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c09/12201461/files/2014/12/img_4959.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c09/12201461/files/2014/12/img_4960-0.jpg

2 thoughts on “Maritime Mary : Shortbreads

Comments are closed.