Maritime Mary: Pumpkin Cookies

If you’ve been reading this blog, you know that twice in September my husband and I went out squash picking. On our first outing, I picked up two small pie pumpkins, thinking that I’d make a pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving. Well, fortunately for me, my daughter volunteered to make the pie but took a pass on using the pumpkins, preferring the ease of the canned product.

Yesterday we baked those cute, whole pumpkins in the oven, just like we did the squash. So now that my pie motivation has gone with the holiday, some of that pumpkin will be made into loaves and some I used for cookies. These tasty, soft little nuggets are not too sweet and perfect for having ‘Coffee with Deanne’.

Pumpkin Cookies
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs
1tsp vanilla
1 cup pumpkin, fresh or canned
Cream butter and sugar well. Add eggs, vanilla and pumpkin.

Mix together:
2 cups flour
4 tsp baking powder
1/2 salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cloves
1 cup raisins
Chopped nuts – optional ( I didn’t use any)
Add dry ingredients into creamed mixture. Mix well.
Drop by tablespoons on greased cookie sheet. Bake in 375 degree oven for about 15 minutes.

IMG_4610.JPG

IMG_4613.JPG

IMG_4609-0.JPG

2 thoughts on “Maritime Mary: Pumpkin Cookies

Comments are closed.