Maritime Mary: A Grunt

Just the other day I heard Deanne say something about wanting to have a grunt soon. The power of suggestion is strong so that whetted my appetite.

An odd word, a grunt is really just a name for a very simple dessert that is cooked on the stove top. We make it with blueberries but I suppose you could exchange any similar fruit. Rhubarb might be tasty in this form. Apparently the dessert is supposed to grunt while cooking, hence the name. (I can’t say that mine do.)

The trick to making a good grunt is to not lift the lid and peek while it’s cooking, while the magic happens. In my house, I let everyone know not to lift the cover, which in turn makes this very challenging, for myself included.

On Friday I bought ten pounds of beautiful local blueberries at the Farmer’s Market. It was time for me to have a grunt too!

Blueberry Grunt
Combine first five ingredients in a large saucepan. Bring to a boil and then let it simmer.
5 cups fresh or frozen blueberries
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup water
1 tsp lemon juice
Finely grated lemon rind

2 cups flour
1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbsp butter
1cup milk
Mix dry ingredients together, cut in butter, add milk and still till moistened. Drop by spoonfuls on to the simmering fruit. Cover pot and allow it to continue simmering for 15 minutes. No peeking!!
Serve warm. Delicious with vanilla ice cream or a key lime sherbet!

IMG_4138.JPG

IMG_4142.JPG

IMG_4139.JPG

IMG_4141.JPG

4 thoughts on “Maritime Mary: A Grunt

  1. I can imagine how good this is! Thank you for this (uncomplicated!) Recipe; I am really happy to know it thru you!,, xo susan

    Like

Comments are closed.