Catherine Bussiere: traveling with my mom

DSC_0164 DSC_0167 DSC_0171 DSC_0174  DSC_0179 DSC_0180 DSC_0184

I know it’s fathers day
but
I’ve been hanging with my mom lately

My mom came to visit me in Nova Scotia
almost a month
she lives in Trois-Rivières, Québec
a city gal that can appreciate the country

as adults we may not spent a lot of time with our parents
with the distance that separates us I certainly don’t
but when I do it’s usually a chunk of time

the interesting thing about a long visit is that you have to adjust to each other
each others life style and environment
if someone comes for a day or two you most likely give all your best
on a longer visit the full you starts coming out

it took about a week for my mom to settle in
to adjust to our country rhythm
to adjust to our personalty
to make herself fit in

my mom lives alone and has been living alone for years
it takes adjustments

it’s funny how we both have a tendency to put each other on pedestal
(I didn’t grow up with her)
but face to face, day after day, the pedestal got shorter
we both became more human
with our faults, our imperfection
it’s a good thing
it’s real, it needs work and it works

I drove my mom back to Québec last Wednesday
we stopped in Kamouraska for the night
treated ourselves to a beautiful B&B
if you ever drive through Québec do stop there
this little village on the shore of the St-Laurence river is so beautiful

I’m in Trois-Rivières now
for a week
a country gal that can appreciate the city
it’s good to spend time
beyond the surface there is so much to learn