Another local supper from Manasseh

Today at our fibre arts thursday…we really need a better name for our Thursday group, we all talked about Manasseh the new local market. It seems the qinoua there is less expensive than at the big grocery stores according to Maritime Mary. Milk, bread, eggs and the essensials are all good prices. I have been really taking up the local eating challenge. It is really nice to follow the seasons with our meals.
Tonight I am wrapping fresh asparagus in ham and grilling it under the broiler for a few minutes. I also put together a crustless quiche.
Spinach and Feta Crustless Quiches
8 eggs
3/4 cup milk
1/2 cup feta
1/2 teaspoon dill
Pepper
2tbsp flour
5 cups fresh spinach chopped
Beat together , pour into a greased pie plate and top with another 1/4 cup crumbled feta. Bake at 350 for 1/2 hour. Serve with grilled ham and Asparagus.
Yum.

20140529-171551.jpg

20140529-172543.jpg

20140529-183300.jpg

3 thoughts on “Another local supper from Manasseh

  1. I got some wonderfully fresh asparagus from my local farm stand last weekend (I had to wait for them to bring it in from the field – that’s HOW fresh). The farmer told me that the local restaurants who were also buying from him were shaving the fat stalks on a mandolin and serving the shavings in salads, raw. Sounds wonderful. I just purchased a mandolin and will give it a try! Thought I’d pass it along in case you want to try it, too!

Comments are closed.