Supper from Manasseh: Chicken in Cream Gravy

My friend Elizabeth has opened a local food store just up the street from the studio. As often as I can I have been shopping there. It has been interesting, because everything is local what is available in Nova Scotia is both limited and surprising.

So I have been buying what is available and then coming up with recipes for it. Last night I made Chicken in a sour cream gravy. Here is the recipe. It was delicious.

Chicken in Sour Cream Gravy

Four Chicken breast sliced in two and dredged in flour
1 onion chopped fine
1/4 cup celery
1 clove garlic
1/2 cup sour cream  1 cup chicken stock

 

Slice chicken breasts in two , dredge in flour and pan fry browning on both sides in olive oil. Transfer to oven when the chicken is golden brown on both sides and bake at 350 until it is cooked, ten minutes or so.

In the pan with the chicken juices, fry one onion, one clove garlic, and 1/4 cup of celery. Add a tablespoon of butter.Toss in four cups sliced mushrooms. I used a mixture of portabello and button mushrooms. Fry until mushrooms are reduced in size slightly then add 2 tbsp flour and stir. Slowly add in 1 cup chicken broth. You will have a gravy at this point, then add 1/2 cup of sour cream.

Remove chicken from oven and top with mushroom gravy. I served it with boiled potatoes with chives and fiddleheads.

Surprisingly she has spinach, tomatoes, peppers, even this early from a local greenhouse. I am really enjoying the challenge of cooking local.

20140519-102247.jpg

One thought on “Supper from Manasseh: Chicken in Cream Gravy

  1. It all sounds pretty yummy to me. I saw Fiddleheads for sale at Sobey’s, at $6.00 a pound.

    Like

Comments are closed.