Bicycle in the window.

I bought myself a bike to replace curling in the summer. I never drove a bike as an adult but I figure now is as good a time to try something new as ever. I am scared of going down hills so I have been picturing myself doing it even as I sit here in the snow storm.
I am forty eight and I bought a new bicycle from the new bike shop in town. I like the sound of that. I also bought a rack so I can carry it places. Now I just sit and picture myself cycling around town because today there is a Northeaster blowing through.

20140326-122923.jpg

20140326-122946.jpg

11 thoughts on “Bicycle in the window.

  1. Your new bike is wonderful Deanne. The colour is you!!
    Biking is so much fun. After having my favourite bike stolen 2 years ago from where I work I purchased a new one last year — a silver women’s upright Trek bike. I’ve always had a men’s bike with the cross bar since I can remember. I love not having to crank my let up and over the seat. And now I can ride in a skirt if I really wanted to! Enjoy (when the weather finally cooperates).
    Did you get a helmet to match? (Sorry, the trauma nurse always comes out in me when I see people on their bikes with no helmet — seen too much.)

    Like

  2. I started biking again last year at 60, although I don’t feel 60. My husband has become a fanatic. I won’t be one of those but I do enjoy it, as terrifying as it can be. Just start slow, stay off the busy roads, wear a helmet. We only bike on the trail which has it’s own challenge…And…get a good seat as they make all the difference despite our natural” padding”! Have fun!

    Like

  3. I hope the storm was not too bad. We were fortunate to have it miss Connecticut, but the winds were way too strong for a bike ride today. Happy biking, maybe spring will be here soon.

    Like

  4. I feel a rug coming Deanne – you whipping down the streets of Amherst with the wind in your hair! It reminds me of my old bike -which I still have but alas the only action it sees is when I plant flowers in the basket.

    Like

Comments are closed.