Prosciitto and goat cheese chicken

Sometimes you find an odd recipe and you wonder if it could really be any good. All week I have been thinking about this recipe I found in a magazine that Megan put in our give a way basket . It was a Better Homes and Gardens 30 minute Dinners magazine and I adapted the recipe some what. Here it is. I just picked up the ingredients today and made it for supper. I would say it is the best meal I cooked in weeks..
Four large chicken breasts
1 small log of herbed goat cheese
1 package of proscuitto
Salt , pepper, olive oil, truffle oil

1/2 cup finely chopped dates
3/4 cup water
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

Take four deboned Chicken breasts and split them in two making two steaks of each.
Top each piece with a round of herbed goat cheese.
Wrap with a piece of proscuitto.
Pan fry in olive oil ( I added a tsp of truffle oil as well) with the cheese side up for four minutes.
Put in same pan in oven. Bake fifteen minutes at 350. Then broil for a few minutes to crisp Proscuitto.

Top with Date Sauce.
Boil together 1/2 cup dates, 1/4 cup bslsamic vinegar, and 3/4 cup of water. Serve over broiled chicken.

20140313-183938.jpg

20140313-183953.jpg

20140313-184011.jpg

20140313-184037.jpg

5 thoughts on “Prosciitto and goat cheese chicken

  1. Okay, I can try this. I have all the ingredients except truffle oil and dates. Did you use dried or fresh dates?
    Thanks Deanne for all your charming, insightful, informative and inspired writings. We are lucky to have you in our rug hooking world….or just on the planet period.

    Like

Comments are closed.