Maritime Mary: Post Olympics

I am suffering from Olympic withdrawal. That’s right, I confess that an inordinate amount of time was spent in front of the TV during the last two weeks.

What a spectacle we were treated to in Sochi! The television broadcasts were filled with excellent stories of the athletes, their hurdles, their disappointments and accomplishments. We heard about Canadian athletes as well as those from other countries. There was so much heart in the games. I loved seeing the pride of those who reached the podium watch as their flags were raised and their anthems played. And the commercials, they were even entertaining.

And so yesterday morning, the TV remained silent and I again turned my favourite radio station on. To fill the void, many vegetables were chopped and I made an asparagus vegetable soup. Then I dug out an old recipe and made cinnamon loaves all while steel cut oatmeal was cooking in the slow cooker. The house was filled with great kitchen aromas as we were getting back to normal during this post-Olympic week.

One cannot help but be excited to notice that the daylight hours are lengthening, the sun feels warmer, and while we may have lots of winter ahead, it’s time to think about new projects. My winter afghan is completed and my hooking frame is coming out again!

/hookingrugs.files.wordpress.com/2014/02/20140225-070705.jpg”>20140225-070705.jpg

20140225-070744.jpg

20140225-070929.jpg

5 thoughts on “Maritime Mary: Post Olympics

  1. Thank-you so much, Mary. I shall definitly make this soon …….. as soon as I can get a break from the constant shovelling this winter has assigned us. Oh-h-h ….. to soon see Spring and Summer !

    Like

  2. Paula and Sand8p, here is the recipe for the Cinnamon Loaf. When I wrote that it was old, it really is, actually calling for some shortening.
    Combine and set aside 3 tbsp. brown sugar and 1 tbsp. cinnamon.
    Mix together 1/4 cup shortening, 1 cup white sugar, 2 eggs, 1 cup soured milk (with vinegar), 2 cups flour, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 2 tsp vanilla.
    Spread 1/3 of the batter in a greased loaf pan, sprinkle 1/2 of the cinnamon mixture over. Add another 1/3 of the batter, sprinkle with remaining cinnamon mixture. Top with remaining batter. Run a knife through the batter a few times to move the cinnamon mixture around. Bake at 325 for an hour or so.
    Hope you enjoy.
    M

    Like

  3. Love the look of that vegetable soup. We have been having lots of soups and stews. They are great meals to have, put in the freezer and enjoy several times before sadly you have the last bowl.

    Like

  4. Add me to the list. We thoroughly enjoyed all of the Olympics. Now , trying to get back to “normal” is taking some effort. Like you, Mary, I am drawn to the kitchen as well as to my frame. Feels good. Plus all that daylight ………. I love it ! Thank you for your wonderful pictures along with your entry today. Oh yes , the Cinnamon Bread recipe would be great , if you do not mind sharing.

    Like

  5. This makes two of us! And, btw, could you share that recipe for cinnamon loaf? After the olympics; I also have an addiction to cinnamon and it’s very healthful you know. 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.