horses

 

One of the things  about the place I live is that it is close to everything. We are on the edge of town so I can take a walk and see fields of horses but if I am cooking and I need a lemon I am five minutes from the grocery store. This is important to me. I could easily live in town. I like the town a lot.  The feeling of going out my door and walking past a pond, through a little bit of woods or past a field of horses is pretty soothing.

On my Sunday walk this week I took these pictures of horses. I was standing on the side of the road watching them, thinking, of course about how beautiful they were, and how simple their shapes are.

I have tried to hook horses and have never been really satisfied with what I made. When I look at these images I can really feel their beauty and their strength. Translating this into wool is quite a challenge. Not every artist can be good at every subject. That does not mean I should quit trying but there are times that I need a break for years. Yes, that’s right. Once I try to hook something and I am really unsuccessful it takes me a long time to come back to the subject.

Horses are one of those subjects. They are not easy but my, oh my, they are majestic.

IMG_0356 IMG_0358 IMG_0360 IMG_0365 IMG_0347 IMG_0354

5 thoughts on “horses

  1. Seems like quite a while since I’ve put my two cents in! Must thank you again for all the wonderful blogs…I so enjoyed all the online courses and continue to enjoy them vicariously on the site…thanks for that, too! May your new shop be all you want it to be…I’ll be here with you during the process…you are so generous to share your life with us…! Carol

    Like

  2. Oh, how I love this entry. We are small town people and also “horse people”. It’s great to know I’m not the only one who hasn’t mastered the art of capturing this powerfully strong friend. lol Try again and let us see when you do it. Thanks, Sandie

    Like

  3. Yes, oh how majestic these beautiful horses are! I recall being in beautiful Trinity Bay one summer visiting my parents, when out of the corner of my eye, I saw this unforgettable sight on the beach below their deck ……….. a dozen horses galloping past. How incredibly beautiful. Our sons were in awe. Since learning in one of your courses to sketch, I remember how I just could not master sketching those majestic animals. So , I lay that aside and went on to use other more manageable subjects . But maybe one day I shall attempt it again and perhaps cone up with rug pattern to hook. Thanks for bringing that memory back for me, Deanne

    Like

Comments are closed.