Shots from At the Kitchen Table

 

I have a radio show you know. It is called At the Kitchen Table. Most Wednesday afternoons Frank Allen and I interview people in our community about their lives.  It is a volunteer thing that I do for the local radio station, CFTA. This is a community radio station, run by volunteers and just a couple of full time employees. It is a labour of love in our community and in just a few years it has gotten a loyal following. You can pick up the signal  for about one hour in any direction of Amherst or of course you can listen online.

You can listen to a few of the Archived Shows here. Over the last year we have interviewed over forty people and I have learned a lot about the wonderful people in my community. It is really interesting to sit with someone you barely know for an hour and have a conversation about their life, their work, their passions, their interests. I have discovered so many fine committed people.

We do not plan the questions , we just wing it, as if they came in for a quick visit. We ask them to bring three songs with them that we play through out the interview, and we talk about their choices in the interview. I have to say I have learned a lot from our guests. So many of them are selfless in their volunteer work. They live for the good of others and in doing so enjoy their own lives all the more. That is such a lesson.

The kitchen table is such a place. We feed others, we nourish them, we listen, we tell them about ourselves. It is a metaphor for sharing I s’pose. My own kitchen table is one of those high ones and I bought it as the window it is by is high. For years when I sat at it I had to look up to see who was going up and down the road, what was going on in the outside world. When I bought the higher one I could see everything that was going on outside my own door. Another metaphor for seeing beyond ourselves.

As Audrey Hepburn said, ” As you grow older you will discover that you have two hands; one for helping yourself and one for helping others.”

In fact her beauty tips has remained one of my favorite quotes for years. She must have been really something.

“For attractive lips speak words of kindness. For lovely eyes seek out the good in people. For a slim figure, share your food with the hungry. For beautiful hair, let a child run their fingers through it once a day. For poise , walk with the knowledge that you never walk alone. People even more that things have to be renewed, restored, revived, reclaimed and redeemed. Remember if you ever need a helping hand, you will find one at the end of each of your arms. As you grow older you will discover you have two hands; one for helping others and one for helping yourself.”

Audrey Hepburn, when asked to share her beauty tips.

Shots from my kitchen table…..

IMG_0142 IMG_0123 IMG_0126 IMG_0098

7 thoughts on “Shots from At the Kitchen Table

  1. Would love to sit around your kitchen table and chew the fat over a good strong cuppa tea. Thought about you as I made Oatcakes this week. Living on the 9th floor of an apartment bldg one doesn’t get friends popping in as often. Too darned cold to go outdoors at the moment.

    Like

  2. I love that Audrey Hepburn quote. I remember reading it at the studio!

    I’ve only had the opportunity to listen to a couple of your radio talks but have thoroughly enjoyed them. You do so much for your local community Deanne, I don’t know how you fit it all in!

    Like

  3. Such a great thing to do to bring the community together…going to check it out. That your orchid Deanne? It is lovely…That is the only plant I can grow inside LOL

    Like

  4. I had the pleasure of being interviewed about my writing life on “At The Kitchen Table” in late November, and have to say that it was a great experience. You and your co-host, Frank, made me feel at ease right away, as if we were sitting around a table in one of our homes just having a friendly chat. Thanks so much for the opportunity, Deanne–for sure it was one of my highlights from 2013–right up there with seeing Leonard Cohen in concert twice (Halifax and Moncton) and Mumford and Sons once (Edmonton), so that really says something!

    Like

Comments are closed.