Maritime Mary: Welcome!

When I was teaching young children, I welcomed the new year with a poem that referred to the year ahead as a garment with 365 pockets to explore. The exact words fail me but I do recall that some of those pockets would have surprises, some would have holes. The year would bring a variety of experiences and my students always seemed to enjoy and understand the analogy. There is something to be said for anticipating the year ahead in this simple way.

So as we prepare to bid adieu to 2013 and look forward to a new January, I am not making resolutions. Instead I am making plans and hopes that revolve around my favourite things to do. These involve reading, hooking projects, knitting and of course, being outside to enjoy the wonders of our winter. There is no better place to think than being surrounded by white snow and crisp air.

To you my friends, fellow hookers and readers, it is my hope that your daily pocket will be kind to you and your loves ones. May you bask in the freshness of a new calendar year. Happy 2014.

20131231-070201.jpg

20131231-070229.jpg

20131231-070308.jpg

2 thoughts on “Maritime Mary: Welcome!

  1. A Happy New Year to you Maritime Mary. May it be full of Good Health,and all the things you wish for in your blog. I will raise my glass on high to all fellow hookers, friends I have made through Deanne’s workshops. Good cheer. Shirley.

    Like

Comments are closed.