Maritime Mary: Gumdrop Cookies

Gumdrop cake or loaf was always something I baked at Christmas time. Then one year I paid attention and realized that I was the one consuming most of it. So it was time to stop the loaf! But still, part of Christmas baking has always been cutting up gumdrops, nice and sticky. I then decided to switch it up and make gumdrop cookies instead. That plan has worked well as everyone dips into the cookie jar for these.

These cookies are not going to win an award in the most attractive category but they are very tasty. My family likes soft cookies so I always try to undercook them a bit. They freeze really well so perhaps you can bake up a big batch or two and them hide them behind the frozen turkey. Good luck with that!

GUMDROP COOKIES
1 cup butter or margarine.
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 salt
1 1/4 cup rolled oats
1 1/2 cups gumdrops, cut up (I use more.)

Cream butter and sugars. Beat in eggs and add vanilla.
Add remaining ingredients, mixing well. Drop by spoonfuls onto greased baking sheet. (Not too closely together as the spread.). Bake in 350 degree oven for 12 to 14 minutes. Let cookies sit on the sheet for a few minutes before removing. Makes 4 dozen.

20131217-072823.jpg

20131217-072841.jpg

20131217-072857.jpg

2 thoughts on “Maritime Mary: Gumdrop Cookies

  1. these sound so good.. I make one like it with citren and furit cake mixture. Lots of spices in themtoo. Clove allspice cinnamon nutmeg. yummy

    Like

Comments are closed.