Diane Krys: The Space Between

Propaganda, Diane Krys, 2013

Negative space is a part of any piece of art or design. The spaces between the main elements or subject create forms that need to be considered.  I’m thinking a lot more about this since my work has moved into 3 dimensions. With this new body of sculptural work, I found myself  shaping the negative space as intently as the physical form;  simultaneously carving into space and building. Sometimes the space between is the form.

With my first solo show up and running and the artist’s reception behind me, I’m living in a kind of negative space right now. I don’t mean bad or unhappy, just a space in between a year’s work leading up to the show  and the next  undertaking.  I think a shift in pace is necessary to fully appreciate an intense experience. Nature works symbiotically: ebb and flow; calm waters after wind and waves. Appreciation develops  through contrast.

This personal “space between” is my time to reflect and savour; a time to enjoy an accomplishment, to feel gratitude for everything and everyone that played a role. It’s a time to count my blessings as the saying goes.  It’s exciting to be absorbed in the work and  flurry  but it’s also nice to gear down for awhile to where I can get lost in the rhythm of my knitting needles, take an afternoon nap or host my dear 82 year old aunt who traveled from Halifax to attend the show and spend time with the family.

I need time to ponder. I’m going over the whirlwind of it all: the work, the festivities; the new connections and opportunities starting to bloom. It’s been a truly wonderful experience so far. I went through the reception day buoyed by love and good wishes. It still gives me an effervescent feeling to think about it. I can’t deny it’s a thrill to have someone tell you they like  your work but I was just as moved by the stories and experiences my work prompted others to share. I loved that kids liked the shapes and critters and wanted to take them home. Although the pieces represent more serious topics,on a pure visual level they invited play. That makes me very happy and sows a seed for other work.

The themes of this show were shaped by a personal difficult experience. Ironically, the darkest moments can shine the brightest light to provide clarity and bring you to your truest self.  A negative experience may have burnt a lot of things to the ground but it also put me on a new beautiful path that I couldn’t imagine when I was in the thick of it.  Standing alone in the show, in the physical representation of my  story and journey I felt a great sense of personal growth and gratitude for that dark but enlightening experience.   Even in life, negative can form  positive.

Embracing my “space between” is deepening this whole show experience and shaping things to come. It’s a pregnant pause. It keeps me in touch with who I am and what I value.  It tethers me to positive choices for a fulfilling creative  path when the wind picks up again, and it always does.

 

 

My show, Illusions, Revelations, Transformations runs until November 30. I’ll be attending the Alberta Craft Council’s annual fundraiser on November 29, maybe I’ll see you there! Thanks for stopping in, I’ll be back on December 10th.

 

 

14 thoughts on “Diane Krys: The Space Between

  1. Thanks so much for your thoughts and comments Denise. Beauty is possible in unexpected places I think. (I’ll share more photos down the road.)

    Like

  2. Diane, Your show is very intriguing I wish I could attend and see the whole collection. I would love more photos.
    I think it is commendable that you took those negative experiences in your life and were able to create such beauty. In art the negative space allows the beauty of the “positive spaces” to show through. You have taken the negative space of your life and turned it to beauty. Thank You for your insight and for sharing your talent.
    Denise

    Like

  3. Hi Debra,

    I enjoyed reading your thoughts and I thank you for taking the time to share them. In my professional life before all things fiber I used let myself be run ragged. I learned the hard way how important taking time between things is. Over time I’ve continued to mine it and value it more deeply. Sometimes I think were conditioned to believe that everything must be on and going strong all the time.

    Like

  4. Hi Shirley, You are such a kind, upbeat voice in this online community. Thank you for stopping in to my guest posts and always making me feel good.

    Like

  5. Hi Helen, I have a website in the works. In fact I was at a ‘Ladies Learning Code’ workshop this weekend working on it. I’ll keep you posted. Thanks so much your comments and interest. I think it’s so cool that I met you 7 years ago at Deanne’s workshop and then again last year in October and now we meet on her blog!

    Like

  6. Thanks Catherine! You can never tell with who or how a show will connect. There have been a few delightful surprises in this journey so far.

    Like

  7. Negative spaces – paradox – your creative work, which I so admire (from a distance), a rich perspective of one of life’s great themes. Thank you for these insights in word and image!

    Like

  8. Congratulations on your show, and thanks for sharing these photos with those of us not close enough to attend in person. I was moved by your words and inspired.

    Like

  9. I sometimes worry when, after the intensity of a creating there is a lull, like a house when the visitors all leave. I usually take it to be a block and I wonder if the creativity will return. Your thoughtful post and insightful words have encouraged me to use that negative space as a gift and a time to revitalize and recognize that the ‘space between’ is actually a positive time to reflect until the wind picks up again! Thank you!

    Like

  10. Diaane your show is exquisite ,unusual, thought provoking . The setting is perfect congratulation on your work of art.

    Like

  11. Diane – I do so wish I could have seen the show. What an accomplishment! I hope there will ultimately be some photos of each piece of the work we can see on line. Thanks for sharing your art and your feelings.

    Like

  12. thanks for sharing
    I would so love to see that show
    congratulation
    best for that new journey you will be taking

    Like

Comments are closed.