Diane Krys: Showtime!

It was all I could do not to add 20 more exclamation marks after Showtime.  I’m in the final preparations for my first solo show. It opens October 26,2013 in the Alberta Craft Council’s Discovery  Gallery. I’m very excited. It’s been a year in the making. Knowing I had to deliver this show has shaped and underlined my whole year in many ways.  I streamlined my commitments so I not only had ample time to prepare the work but had time to enjoy the journey.

The call for entry process required a fairly detailed description of the show and the various pieces in it. It was a real challenge to think things through in a conceptual and comprehensible way before I had made the majority of the work. It essentially forced me to work out the rough draft of a story and a blueprint.  I’ve  spent the last year fleshing it out in 3 dimensions and in the process discovered a new way to approach my work.

Over the last year when I visited the Alberta Craft Council I always took a few moments to stand in the gallery to soak up the space: to feel it and imagine how my work would live there. Initially those moments left me petrified. The thought of filling the empty space daunted me: the current work on display humbled me. Can I really do this? As I completed more pieces I noticed those feelings mellowed and finally dissipated. Connecting to the space every once in awhile helped me mentally move into the gallery and feel comfortable.  I don’t know if other exhibitors feel this way or if it’s just part of first solo flight jitters. Of course, a little bit of angst has cropped up again now that the opening is right around the corner.  Mostly because you never really know how a show will land. Having said that, I can face whatever reaction the show brings because I know the work is authentically me.  It’s a part of me like my limbs and organs. It’s a deep exhale of what I’ve experienced, learned, and developed.

I had been in a happy bubble of creativity for a good chunk of time when the first drafts of the exhibit invitation and ACC magazine article appeared in my inbox this past August.   My stomach did a flip and I had to go have a nap to settle myself.  Excitement, nerves, reality.  Oh yeah, I have to show this stuff in public!

I must say I’ve really enjoyed the focus and intensity of working on a single body of work with a deadline.  There’s a time to slowly ponder and absorb and a time to keep the synapses firing and moving. Sometimes there’s nothing like a deadline or something on the line to bring you to your most instinctive creative self.

The show itself explores the idea that everything is not always as it seems.  It’s a story in a way; inspired by a personal challenging experience.  It’s been rolling around in my mind for a few years. I had thoughts of writing about it but the words never came. When I started to combine my parallel explorations in rug hooking, knitting and felting it seemed like I had found a new language for myself and a way to express something inside that previously couldn’t find a way to surface.  Exploring personal creativity is an unpredictable, exhilarating journey and I’m very happy to invite you to view a chapter in my story.

I welcome the chance to say hello to my fellow fiber enthusiasts at the artist’s reception on Saturday, Nov.2 from 2-4. My show runs concurrently with Shona Rae’s “Mythcommunications”.  A fantastical jewelry art exhibit that I personally can’t wait to see. More details and information are available on the Alberta Craft Council website.  Or you are welcome to get in touch with me anytime at dkff@shaw.ca

Thanks for stopping in!

10 thoughts on “Diane Krys: Showtime!

  1. Your show looks amazing, wish I could visit. Thank you also for sharing the experience of creating the work over the past year. Congratulations on this big accomplishment.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the vote of confidence Shirley-I was lucky to meet you! The group at the Amherst fibre festival was the very first to see the beginnings of this new work. That wonderful experience has been with me the whole year as I worked on the show.

    Like

  3. Ally, Joy, Helen, Vicky, and Catherine, THANK YOU for the good wishes, happy faces and exclamation marks! I wish I could scoop you all up and bring you to the reception with me. I will share more photos once the show is up and a website is in the plan. It really means a lot to have this opportunity to share a little bit of my life here with you.

    Like

  4. I know your show will be a KNOCK OUT.Your work is so unusual, artistic, vibrant colours. How lucky I was to meet you and see your work when you attended Deanne’s workshop during last years October Fibre Arts Festival in Amherst. Congratulations on your One Woman Show.Shirley

    Like

  5. this looks amazing!
    I wish I could attend
    I love the little bits that I see on the poster
    is there a website where we can see more?
    no need to wish you luck, it’s an obvious success
    congratulation on the journey
    Best
    Catherine

    Like

  6. Your work looks fascinating Diane. Wish I was closer to Edmonton. Will there be a way to see photos of the exhibition? Congratulations. Amazing work.

    Like

  7. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Here are the other 19 !s. Thanks for sharing this part of the journey. I so wish that I could be there with you but I’m on the other side of the world 😦 blessings, joy

    Like

  8. These hints of your work look amazing – I’m sure it will be a spectacular hit. Wish I could see it in person. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.