Catherine Bussiere: poppy

I love poppies
they must be one of my favorite flower
then again, I love all kinds of flowers
but poppies;
there’s something special about them

I like how simple and flamboyant they are
the ones I have, have few petals
wrinkly petals they are
I like that too, the wrinkles
like they don’t bother with perfectly iron outfits
fits me
I never iron a thing
then, they have that incredible collar
they are all dressed up
bohemian style

tall, glorious, they fade fast
a strong wind and off they go
petal by petal
until all that stands
holder of their future
is a capsule
filled with the seeds of another glorious summer

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Catherine Bussiere: poppy

  1. Poppies are one of my favourite as well…have…well…a lot in the garden, but they always make me smile! 🙂 Thanks for the beautiful visual and beautiful words to go with it! 🙂
    The blue Himalayan Blue Poppies are AMAZING!! A little temperamental, but worth it if they make it. They like a shady spot…nice rich moist soil, but not wet. Also…the 1st year they grow, if you can bear it, cut off any flowers that look they are going to bloom and you will have a much stronger plant. Once they are established, they are great! Good luck! 🙂

    Like

  2. Just bought some “blue poppies” seeds at Butchart Gardens in Victoria,can’t wait to try them…I love them all but these are supposed to be difficult,does anyone else out there have any experience with them???

    Like

Comments are closed.