can’t stop the motion

Dear Diary,When I first got my camera, I was so in love with it. I carried it everywhere. I was like a shed[pa. I bought big bags so I could carry lenses. I kept looking out for the light. I just loved it. Then I got used to it. I shot nearly everything I did at one point or another and then I moved away from it because I was not getting a lot better. Then came my phone and iphoneography and all those aps for making things more lovely, but less real. Still I play with them.

Lately though I have been forgetting to take pictures, forgetting to document the mundane, but the somehow pretty. I have been forgetting about the blog sometimes. This used to be a place where I told what was on my mind, a place I retreated to. The truth is, as my children have grown, I seem to need less of that. I will however start to try to get better with my photography and to remember that this blog is a place for story, a place for pretty. I have really enjoyed our guest writers Diane Krys, Lorna Davis, and Catherine Bussiere. Lorna keeps tabs on what is happening at the studio and shares it here. Catherine and Diane each have their own perspectives, and share a little of their creative lives with us.

I still love my blog. In fact I am right now taking a blogging course online. It cannot hurt , I thought to hear what someone fresh has to say about blogging. I still love it but I am changing a bit, and this blog is changing with me. I am thinking less and being more I guess so my ramblings may be a bit less ponderous than they were a few years ago. My children are now a young man, and a sixteen year old daughter. For years when I wrote here I was “escaping” with a few moments to myself. I find now I rarely want to escape them, it is the other way around, it is them, “getting out of the house.” They have become interesting young people and I love to be around them and their friends.  Now when I write here it is more about the day to day in the studio, a little about my life, or my perspective.

I am thinking about a re deisgn of the blog but am not quite sure yet how I might do that so perhaps I just need to wait . One thing I know is that a blog is areal thing. As long as I tell the truth here, it will be an evolving place, because that is what my life is. It changes. It ebbs and flows. So the blog will ebb and flow and it will be what it will be. Que sera…Que Sera my mother would sing as she danced around the kitchen ignoring one or two of us, depending. She was what she was , she knew it and accepted it.  So as this blog grows and changes, it is only because I can’t stop the motion…que sera , sera, it is sweet and fine, and let me thankful I have you to talk to.

IMG_0457 IMG_0038 IMG_1484

12 thoughts on “can’t stop the motion

  1. Reading your blog Deanne is my way to “escape” for a short while a couple of times a week. And like some of your other readers, it is because I enjoy following along that encouraged me to take your online courses and to venture on a trip for a studio course for the second time. Three years ago I would never have imagined I would be taking off for a week to pursue my own creative interests and leaving the family behind to fend for themselves.
    I look forward to whatever changes you start to explore. It encourages all of us to step outside the usual, the routine and to take the risk of trying something new.

    Like

  2. Hi Deanne. It was your blog that inspired me to start blogging on my website. My blog has just taken a new turn, as I had my website re-done and have divided the blog into 3 categories, Health, Active Lifestyle and Rug Hooking, Fibre and Creativity. I’ve been longing to write more about the connections between health and creativity, so now I can! I’ve also had a lesson in Twitter today.
    Isn’t it thrilling and amazing how our lives evolve as our children grow and leave the nest?
    Warmly,
    Meryl

    Like

  3. I enjoy the blog visits to your home and studio and the ocean walks! I feel like we are invited in and it is a time to sit, chat, listen and share. Keep us informed Deanne and learning. Nice to know you are there encouraging us. Your blog motivatd me to venture to Nova Scotia and visit your shop. What a beautiful place it is! Love the creative thoughts and art work, rugs.

    Like

  4. Reading your blog lifts my spirit and challenges my thoughts and creativity. Glad you are not giving it up. I would miss it. You are the only blog I read. Sallie

    Like

  5. Deanne, I love the blog…as you are thankful you have us to talk to, we are thankful we have you to listen to…
    Evidently, blogs are different, one from another…some are single author, some are interactive, etc. (I had to ‘google’ blogs…the concept is new to me)…
    However you decide to continue, please don’t “stop the motion”…growth and change are good…
    If you don’t mind our chiming in once in a while, that would be good, too…

    Like

  6. Please do not stop, I only read your blog!! Love it and the beautiful pictures you put up. Thank you!

    Like

  7. Don’t stop talking to us, I love talking to you. LOL. If I can’t live in Amherst, it is nice to hear all about it via you. The surrounding places too, keep that camera by your side at all times. Sure wish I was coming there is October, first miss in four years. Perhaps by next year I will have a new knee, it maybe in the works sooooon.Oh boy the hooking I will get done then. Luv Shirley

    Like

  8. I especially love that last image Deanne. it’s so real. Thank you for sharing your journey with us.

    Like

Comments are closed.