Look with Lorna ~ Recipe

Deanne has been hooking a Cabbage Patch Rug and posting pictures on her Facebook page, so one of our customers sent in a Cabbage Roll Soup Recipe to share. If you would like to see the rug in procress, like her facebook page.     Enjoy !

2 lbs lean ground beef

1 large can or bottle of V8 juice (original)

1/2 medium cabbage

2 medium onions or 1 large sweet onion

4 Stalks celery

2 tbsp lemon juice

1/2 cup white sugar

salt and pepper to taste

Crumble and cook ground beef and drain off fat. Pour meat into crock pot. Add V8 juice, coarse chopped cabbage,onions, celery, lemon juice and  sugar. Cook on high for 3 hours, adding more juice if needed. Serve with warm crusty whole wheat bread. Dinner is made and tastes even better the second day.

Happy Rug Hooking while Dinner Cooks.

Cathy

 

“You’re never fully dressed without a smile.”             Martin Charnin

 

 

5 thoughts on “Look with Lorna ~ Recipe

  1. I made this soup and loved it. Sharing this recipe with friends since
    Spring still hasn’t arrived in Kansas City, Missouri!!

    Like

  2. Hi lorna, can’t wait to try that recipe. What an unusual rug — cabbages! I’ve done a cow, a pig, a cat, dancing ladies in the daisies etc. but cabbages. Mmmmmm….. maybe my favourite veg. asparagus. Or cauliflower. Or….
    Karen

    Like

  3. Yes, thanks for posting this Lorna. I am also not a Facebook user.
    The use of colors is gorgeous, as always!

    Now that soup recipe is my kind of idea for making “cabbage rolls”. I love cabbage rolls but I’m too intimidated to make them because they seem too labour intensive and time consuming. I rely on our local Ukranian catering kitchen that also sells to the public 2-3 days a week. They make the best potato cheddar cheese perrogies and also have vegetarian versions of cabbage rolls, like wild mushroom. Everything is made in the kitchen beyond the counter right before your eyes. My favorite are the 20lb bags of potatoes and the largest pot I could ever imagine cooking with for boiling them.
    Thank you to the customer who shared the recipe. Now I can have my cabbage rolls and my time for hooking too!

    Like

  4. Nice rug love the colors. So Spring like…
    We have too much snow for spring flowers yet.
    Yes, I am not a facebook user.

    Like

Comments are closed.