As promised to Gloria…Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe

Dear Diary, I made this sauce this week , but I poured it over ice cream. It is the loveliest brown sugar sauce ever. Blueberry cake was one of my mother’s favourite food because she grew up next to a little hill where she could pick them for herself as a treat. She did not have much growing up but he did have that little blueberry hill outside her door.

I promised a woman in my rug hooking group that I would post the blueberry cake recipe with brown sugar sauce so here it is Gloria, enjoy.

Blueberry Cake

1/2cup butter
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
Cream this together and add
1cup white flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flower
2tsp baking powder
1/2cup milk
Mix and fold in two cups blueberries. Bake at 350 for 30 to 40 minutes until knife comes out clean
Serve with
Warm Brown Sugar Sauce
Melt two tbsp butter, 3/4 cup brown sugar. Add 1 cup water and bring to a boil. Mix 1tbsp cornstarch with 1/4 cup cream or mix and pour into sauce. Reduce heat, stirring til; thickened

.bingo

 

2 thoughts on “As promised to Gloria…Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe

  1. What size pan do you use. Sounds delicious. Can’t wait for blueberry season, this cake will be on my list to make. Sallie

    Like

Comments are closed.