Catherine Bussiere: Oatcakes

These are my favorite oatcakes
A friend of mine brought me a batch years ago
she then gave me the recipe
which I have shared several times
Buttery and just sweet enough, they are the perfect companion to that afternoon tea

here it is

1 cup of softened butter
1/2 cup of sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/2 cup of oatmeal
1 cup of flour
a pinch of salt

Combine butter, sugar and vanilla.
Add flour, oatmeal and salt.
Roll between wax paper to about 1/4”
Cut into squares.
Bake for 10 minutes at 375˚

Want to dress them up
melt some chocolate
and dip them in
or zigzag over

• you may need to share this recipe

 

7 thoughts on “Catherine Bussiere: Oatcakes

  1. During my search to find my favourite oatcake recipe, I’ve noticed that this recipe has neither baking soda or baking powder. That’s unusual. It’s not an accidental omission, right?

    Like

  2. I’m in NB for a visit (from BC) – guess what I’ll be baking with my 6 year old grand daughter tomorrow? And really hoping to be in the studio on Thurs. for the fibre drop-in….

    Like

Comments are closed.