some one’s shoes

Dear Diary, Diane Krys sent me this . She was looking to replace her Dansko shoes and saw these.  We both  had a good laugh. Wool is getting very trendy indeed.  We had ten out today for our Fibre Arts group at the studio. Slowly we will build a nice little community around the place.

One of the things I wonder is would a resource room for rug hookers /fibre artists be of value to you? I am thinking of starting a library back there that can be used for reference. We’ll buy a big selection of art and rug hooking and fibre art books, maybe some interesting dvds. Would people use such a thing. It would be open for use when the rug studio is open. You could go back there, design, sketch read, etc. We would keep up with current trends in textile art, stocking the place with inspirational reads. It would be the kind of place you could go hang out for an hour with a coffee, any day of the week, and of course you would shop at the studio too while you are there.

Wait til you see our new wools, on our new shelves. We just got so much in!

Any way I am interested to hear if you think that would good and useful…a rug hooking/fibre art resource room. You could even bring a few friends and hook for an hour or two back there.wool shoes

13 thoughts on “some one’s shoes

  1. Would it be reasonable to ask if anyone who is thinking of downsizing their rug-hooking library might consider selling their books at a substantially.reduced price, or maybe for the cost of the shipping? I would be interest in following -up on this with some of my books.
    Cathy Henning

    Like

  2. I think its a great idea, I often go to the library looking for ideas, inspiration and such but sadly its not always there. A great resource. Center would be well used I think. Everyone is great at the shop but things are very busy there. I’m not shy to ask but others may not be as comfortable. Sure to inspire:-)

    Like

  3. You are full of great ideas. A library in your studio would be an ideal place to sit and browse through your collection of books on fibre arts etc. To drop in and chat with others, over a cuppa tea and a cooky . Sorta like Chapters maybe??? At the house where I meet every Wednesday afternoon to hook,our hostess has a studio in her spare room, where we can buy all kind of supplies for hooking, plus a lending library with every variaty of Rug Hooking books through the years. Plus, at the end of the afternoon for a small charge, she bakes goodies and serves hot drinks.

    Like

  4. For those of us too far away to reach the resource centre how about an online reading list of books and articles that would be helpful for us?

    Like

  5. I think a collection of resource books would be fabulous,design, hooking and dyeing in a place where the ones working there can help you go through it.I had been to the used book store in Amherst and could not buy anything on rughooking there ,the owner said that rughookers were keeping anything they owned and sharing among themselves,not a bad thing but hard to break into if you are new to fiber arts.The library has been trying to get what they can but if it is checked out,then it can be a long wait. We are looking forward to your hook-ins as the weather improves,oh and the shopping in your shop is tops on the list!!!!

    Like

  6. I think a resource room is a great idea! I wish I was closer and could join the Thursday group but maybe the next time I’m home to N.S. I’ll make a trip to Amherst….and it’s not that far from Truro 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.