things I like about being a woman

  • it’s mostly about accessories….you can adorn yourself easily and freely
  • your women friends like to tell you how much they like your jacket, or your necklace or your shoes
  • you can have more than three pairs of shoes, it is expected of you
  • scarves that flow
  • big earrings
  • that girlfriend get together that you have with different gangs, different times of year.
  • that feeling you get when you haven’t seen a girlfriend for years and they look great
  • knitting , sewing, rug hooking,  though it is not just for women, it sure feels like it.
  • flipping up my collar and wearing a scarf
  • pretty mittens
  • fluffy long hair
  • lipstick
What do you like? I know these things are not relegated just to women, but it feels that way to me sometimes. I love femininity, and don’t find it weak. I think it is strong and beautiful, and most of my friends support each other in it. When we get together, we tell each other what looks great. We share recipes. We tell funny stories. We tell the truth and I love it.
Last wekend I got together with some friends for an annual visit and it was so nice to see everyone looking and feeling good. I enjoyed looking at what they were wearing, hearing their year of stories, knowing they were frank and honest and that nothing worthwhile was leaving the room.
We ate salad and crab cakes. We just sat and talked with a tv on in the background. It was just a good old visit, the kind that makes you happy you are a woman.
  • belts that cinch your waist


18 thoughts on “things I like about being a woman

  1. I wouldn’t leave home with out eyeliner, mascara oh yes and lip liner too. My niece gave me three mid calf skirts, they are coming out this winter! Oh la la

    Like

  2. I’m with Kim, I love heels that click on the floor! I love a skirt that “twirls”. Tall boots with tights and skirts. Mascara. Clothes with feathers or sequins…or both!

    Like

  3. A popular post Deanne!
    Nothing better than Girlfriends!!
    I’m eagerly anticipating next weekend where I’m heading off with 4 girlfriends to our yearly jaunt to the One-of-a-Kind Christmas Craft show in Toronto. It has been a tradition for us for many years now. We don’t get many chances to get together at other times during the year due to schedules, distances, etc but we never fail missing the show.
    Can’t do heels, but love colourful scarves, mittens and trendy hats.
    The evening before attending the show we are having a potluck dinner with a fashion accessories exchange!! Our Christmas presents to each other!
    Cheers, Sandra

    Like

  4. A spritz of perfume,wearing a dress,earrings, wearing an apron when cooking, choosing what dish will compliment food I’ve prepared,

    Like

  5. I love the encouragement I get from my female friends. We can share our joys and our sorrows, look in one another’s eyes and acknowledge with no expectation that it is something that needs to be fixed. I am looking forward to a fibre group on Friday night where we bring some fibre, some food and wine and talk about our fanciful business ideas, what we want to do with our lives, and leave our day to day worries behind for an evening. I also love the feeling of freedom to be who I am meant to be now that I am a woman in my 50’s.

    Like

  6. True, there is nothing I like better than a day out with the GALS. A time to put on your “Glad Rags” and feel like a woman. I must admit even when jumping around at the gym I wear full make up LOL. It helps a lot at 81 OMG!!!!!! I seem to remember years ago if you were wearing those stiletto heels on some hard wood floors you were asked to kindly remove them. How any one can wear them now amazes me. Too many years in running shoes, those tootsies become tender. (oh you kids) As the songs says “There is nothing like a Dame “.Of the four picture above I have hooked two, wonder if the design with the flowered border and the five women joining hands is available? Great blog, it was a wonderful three days at the October workshop 45 woman all having fun,having travelled From far and wide .Shirley

    Like

  7. I still have the remnants of your heels on my pine floors upstairs when you looked after the upstairs during the house tour 17 years ago! There is this little patch of indents, actually we could call them “kimdents” lol. You do like shoes that click, that is for sure, and kick ass boots as you say.

    Like

Comments are closed.